Type details for Irish Province

Type:Irish Province
Number of units in system:
Geographical Level: 6 (Region)
ADL Feature Type:countries, 1st order divisions
May have as parts: Irish County

Full Description:

The previous divisions of Ireland, the tuathas system, were replaced during the late Celtic period by the provinces. There are four provinces within Ireland: Connacht, Munster, Leinster, and Ulster, the fifth province of Meath having been absorbed into Leinster. Before the introduction of counties these provinces were no more than feudal kingdoms with flexible boundaries, but today they are associated with specific counties.